St Georges Day 2019

The following Awards were presented today to adults in the District:

Long Service Awards

10yrs - Louisa Golder, District

15yrs - Sheila Harper, 7SQH

15yrs - Graeme Luscombe, 2EP

15yrs - Sharon Ridgewell, District

The Commissioners Commendation

Terry Talbot, 6SQH

Lee Eastment, 2SQH

Rashida Boukari, 1RA

Owen Bristow, 7HX

Caroline Gallagher, 3UP

Lee Owen, 2UP

Reggie Dean, 1UP

The Chief Scouts Commendation for Good Service

James Youngs, 2SQH

The Silver Acorn

Nick Messenger, Thriftwood



District AGM 2018

Members of the District gathered for the 85th District AGM, held at 1st Upminster.
As well as hearing lots of good news about the charities annual report and financial health we also recognised some amazing adults and young leaders with awards for their dedication and commitment to helping change the lives of our young people.

David Brooks - 2nd Upminster
Sam Ford - 1st Corbets Tey
Aliyah Jamil - 8th Hornchurch
Daniel Noble - 2nd Rainham
Henry O’Leary - 1st Upminster
Tom Rice - 1st Squirrels Heath
George Wilkins - 7th Hornchurch

Overall YL of the Year - Daniel Noble

Samantha Robinson, 1st South Hornchurch
Carol Karaca, 7th Hornchurch

30yrs - Charles Cox, 8th Hornchurch
40yrs - Len Newman, District Executive

Louisa Wilson, 1st Cranham
Sarah Dodds, 7th Hornchurch
Carol Karaca, 7th Hornchurch

Hannah Green, 2nd Upminster

3rd Rainham

The evening was finished off with a presentation from the GHISP project about their life changing work in The Gambia this summer. Highly inspiring stuff!
A good evening celebrating success and looking forward to the next 12 months of providing #SkillsForLife




St Georges Day 2018

Yesterday over 800 members of the District gathered in glorious sunshine for the tradition Parade & Service to celebrate St. DSC 0319George's Day.Yesterday over 800 members of the District gathered in glorious sunshine for the tradition Parade & Service to celebrate St. George's Day.

In the presence of Her Worship T  he Mayor of Havering it was fabulous to see all of our 18 Scout Groups in attendance, along with young people from every Explorer Scout Unit and the District Scout Network.

The Beavers enjoyed another fun packed performance provided by Lightnin' Drama and the Cubs, Scouts & Explorers in the main hall heard from the GHISP Unit about their trip to The Gambia this summer.

We were delighted to present Awards on behalf of The Chief Scout for long service and good service, including two very special 50 year service awards for Brian Taffs and Richard Monks of 1st Upminster.

The full list of recipients are below:

Nicky Gillett 8th Hornchurch 15yrs Service
Corinne Dutch 2nd Cranham 15yrs Service
David Dutch 2nd Cranham 15yrs Service
Kevin Cooper 1st South Hornchurch 20yrs Service
Christine Richardson 3rd Upminster 25yrs Service
Andy Rice 8th Hornchurch 30yrs Service
Gerry Merritt 1st Corbets Tey 40yrs Servic
Brian Taffs 1st Upminster 50yrs Service
Richard Monks 1st Upminster 50yrs Service
Dean Claxton 1st Upminster Chief Scout's Commendation
Martin Wallis  2nd Cranham Chief Scout's Commendation
 Mark Duffy  3rd Upminster  Award for Merit
 Stuart Brown  8th Hornchurch  Bar to the Award for Merit
 Roger Stannard  3rd Upminster  Bar to the Award for Merit
Sandra Smith 1st Squirrels Heath The Silver Acorn
Richard Monks 1st Upminster The Silver Acorn
In addition the following members of the District were also recognised and spent the day at Windsor Castle taking part in the National Day of Celebration:
Debbie Carter 2nd Upminster The Silver Acorn
 Adam Woodgate 3rd Upminster The Silver Acorn

A Huge thanks to everyone who helped to make the day a success -

see you all next year on Sunday 21st April 2019!



St Georges Day Awards



Congratulations to some of our Adult Volunteers. Debbie Carter, Sandra Smith and Adam Woodgate who received the Silver Acorn Award. Thank you all for the hard work you have contributed towards the Scout Association.






DofE Awards Evening 2018

DofE Logo

Congratulations to the young people receiving their Duke of Edinburgh’s Awards

DofE Bronze Awards

Jacob Smith, Ben Hamberger. Kieran Seddon, Alexander Sloan, Dexter Gill, Reece Johnson, Aqeel Little, Jacob Lovell, Keir McEwan.

D0fE Silver Awards

Harriet Lucas, Alex Thomas, Robert Hedges, Samantha Rogers, Sam Wilkins, Lee Dodd, Aron Williams, Tyler Brown, David Brooks, Megan Bayley, Jack Bresslaw, Lauren Tangye, Aiden Keszei, Rhys Easman, Michael Wilson, George Wilkins, Lauren Mazonas, Thomas Owen, Bethany Newton, Nathan Street, Samuel Stalabrass, Ben Walton.




St George's Day

DSC 0558

Baden Powell chose St George to be the Patron Saint of the Scout Association. He felt that St George set a good example of faith, courage and perseverance.

So today, the 23rd April 2017 Hornchurch held their annual St George's Day Parade and we were pleased that the Mayor of Havering, Councillor Philippa Crowder was able to join us for our celebrations. We were fortunate that the weather was fine, there were lots of smiling faces with the young people and Leaders wearing their uniform with pride and as with all St George's Day celebrations during the service, all present were able to renew their Promise.

Hornchurch District is a great place to be a Beaver, Cub, Scout, Explorer, Network or Adult Leader/Supporter, and a big thank you to each and everyone who attended.

Debbie Carter

District Commissioner





Scout Network Christmas camp

0197 nSo this weekend saw the first Hornchurch Scout Network Christmas camp bringing together 30 of our leaders and supporters together aged between 18-25.

the weekend was full of xmas themed events in true scouting style and even managed a full Christmas dinner using traditional cooking styles and also the use of a fire.

it went really smoothly and everyone who was in attendance enjoyed themselves i can say that even tho Network is still very young in this district you can see from the photos that it has a very bright future

i would like to say a massive thank you to Jack Bresslaw who took the lead in this event as event co-ordernator bring all these young people together and providing an awesome event




30 Years Service

ph567 nA great surprise last night for Patricia Hipperson BSL at 1st Cranham.
Pat is celebrating 30 years as Beaver Leader with 1st Cranham this year....... yes 30 Years!
We turned up at the Colonies Xmas party to present some gifts on behalf of the Group and the District. Presentations were made by Linda Thorogood and Scott Wilderspin both of whom have been GSL's at 1st Cranham and DC's in Hornchurch.
Congratulations to Pat and we are looking forward to 40 years next :)
Picture show Pat with her colony last night.